top of page

Skilled Visa

Australia has a number of visa options for individuals who are skilled and wish to work and live in Australia. These visas are designed to target genuine skill shortages, diversify business expertise and increase entrepreneurial talent, without displacing Australian workers.

Leading Edge Migration provides consultation, assessment, and visa services for the General Skilled Migration category.

Various visas under the General Skilled Migration category are:

  • Skilled Independent visa – subclass 189

  • Skilled Nominated visa – subclass 190

  • Skilled Work Regional (Provisional) visa – subclass 491 (State Regional Sponsored Stream & Family Sponsored Stream)

  • Permanent Residence (Skilled Regional) visa (subclass 191) 

  • Skilled Regional Subclass 887

Skilled Independent Visa (Subclass 189)

Subclass 189 (Skilled Independent) is for people seeking an independent permanent skilled visa. This includes people without an employer or family sponsor or state or territory government nomination. Applicants must meet the necessary thresholds, including holding a suitable skills assessment in a nominated occupation on the MLTSSL, and meeting the gazetted points test mark.

Skilled Nominated Visa (Subclass 190)

Subclass 190 – Skilled Nominated (Permanent) Visa is for people who have received state/territory government nomination and are seeking a permanent skilled visa. You must be under 45 years of age and have competent English.
This visa lets you and any additional applicants live and work in Australia permanently.

Skilled Work Regional (Provisional) Visa (Subclass 491)

This visa is for intending migrants who are interested in either state or territory government regional nomination or have a family member in regional Australia to sponsor them. The subclass 91 visa is a five-year provisional visa where the visa holder must live in the specified regional area in Australia for at least 3 years before they can apply for permanent residency through the Permanent Residence Skilled Regional Visa - (Subclass 191). 

Permanent Residence (Skilled Regional) visa (subclass 191) - Regional Provisional stream

This visa allows people who have lived and worked in designated regional areas of Australia on an eligible visa, live and work in Australia permanently. To be eligible for this visa you hold an eligible visa (Subclass 491) for at least three years, have had a taxable income at or above a specific income threshold for at least three years while holding your eligible visa and have complied with the conditions of the eligible visa you hold or have held.


Permanent Regional Visa (Subclass 887)

This visa is the second stage visa process for applicants who had previously been on a Skilled Provisional visa (Subclass 489) and are now seeking permanent residence. These applicants must previously have held one of the following visas:

  • Skilled Regional visa (subclass 489)

  • Skilled Independent Regional visa (subclass 495)

  • Skilled Designated Area Sponsored visa (subclass 496)

  • Skilled Regional Sponsored visa (subclass 475 or 487)

  • Bridging visa A or Bridging visa B after applying for a subclass 495, 487, or 489 visa

All these skilled provisional visa holders can apply for this second-stage permanent residence visa if they have lived for at least two years in regional Australia and worked full-time for a total of 12 months in the specified regional area.

bottom of page